City Elections

The City of Taylor is a "Council / City Manager" form of government. Council members are elected by the citizens and registered voters of Taylor. The City is governed by members under a Single Member District form of government and divided into 4 Districts and has 1 Council representative from each, as well as council member elected at large. Council terms are 3 years and staggered with elections held in May. The Mayor and Mayor Pro Tem are elected every year from within the Council members themselves and serve a 1 year term in these positions.

Council Election May 5, 2018
Council Member Districts 2 and 3

This year, an election will be held on May 5, 2018 for the purpose of electing one person as a member of the City Council from District 2 and one member from District 3.  Only registered voters who reside in either of these districts are eligible to vote and/or run for one of these offices. 

 Candidates must meet the following qualifications:  
  • Be 18 years of age or older and a qualified voter of the City
  • Have resided in the state for at least twelve (12) months and 
  • Resided at least six months within the city limits AND within the district for which he/she is seeking election (including territory recently annexed)  prior to the filing deadline
Candidate packets are available at this link or can be picked up at City Hall.  Applications may be submitted to the City Clerk from 8 am January 17 through 5 pm February 16, 2018. 
 Council members receive $25 per month and are paid twice a year. 

Additional Information

If you have any questions, please contact the City Clerk. Additional helpful sites for election information may be found on the following websites:

Other Elections

Visit the County website for complete election results:

  1. Susan Brock

    City Clerk
    Phone: 512-352-3676